AT&T Uverse does not block port 443 but…their wireless STB uses that port

I fought for days trying to get my Owncloud server to allow remote https access. At first I thought it was either my Apache 2 configuration or my DMZ Shorewall router (on a Debian Squeeze Pogoplug). I turned out that my wireless set top box was using port 443. That meant I needed to use a different port for my remote https access to Owncloud. I decided to route port 4430 on my router to port 443 on my Owncloud server (running Ubuntu 12.04). Worked great…so far.

Posted on February 8, 2013, in 12.04, Debian Pogoplug/Dockstar, Uverse. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. okay, you are speaking Greek to me and I don’t speak Greek. I’m trying to hook up a pogoplug to my Att uverse system and it doesn’t want to work. Pogplug has a green light which means it should work, but nada. I’ve tried every slot and can’t get it to recognize it. Any suggestions?

  2. bruce turrie

    Okay, not sure where to start so I’ll try with a bit of translation. When you add a device to a network, Most my post was for fairly advanced users trying to build their own personal website on a pogoplug or use the pogoplug as a fancy firewall. The bit about port 443 concerns setting up secure access to that firewall or website. So, when you connect something like a pogoplug or a computer to your Uverse Gateway box, the gateway gives your device an address called an ip address. this is so other computers in your house can talk directly to your new pogoplug. When another computer wants to talk to your new device it uses that address and opens a port to create a communication line.

    A port is just a number and some numbers are associated with specific communication types: 80 for talking to websites, 443 for private communication to websites and others.

    That said I don’t think any of this is relevant to you. I’m guessing you just want to use your pogoplug as it was intended to be used. There’s not enough info in your comment to let me make any specific suggestions about that.

    But, if you have a green light your pogoplug is working. So, it seems most likely that you haven’t connected it to your uvers gateway properly or you haven’t configured it yet using my.pogoplug.com. So, are you saying you’ve connected your pogoplug to your uverse Gateway and my.pogoplug.com doesn’t see it?

    • LOL – now I feel dumb as dirt – and I have (counting on my fingers) 8 years of college! But that was in the stone age before computers…My first computer was a commodore 64 – that should tell you something –

      All I know is that I followed their directions and the error message I got is as follows:

      “The specified device could not be found on your network. Please ensure that the device is attached correctly.”

      I am getting a green light on the pogo plug.

      My husband is on the network with me and isn’t trying to use the pogo plug…and I do have a firewall and all that – could either of those be the problem? I could take down the firewall – my husband and I have never shared data. Although we’re on the same network there was no need to share data as we have different data interests. Yes, I just want to use the pogoplug in the usual way – I’ve lost all of my beadwork patterns before when my computer crashed out and I want to make sure that never happens again. I’m a crafter, and craft patterns are expensive.

      So grateful for any advise you can give – I found you by putting in queries re pogoplug and uverse as I suspected uverse was the problem. Leslie PS I have put in a question to to pogoplug help and they responded that they wanted the exact message that I received, which I have given you, and since then I haven’t heard back. I think they don’t have a clue.

      • Sorry for not replying sooner. Either I missed the notification that you had responded or it never came. It’s been quite a while since I tried using a pogoplug as it’s intended to be used so my memory is a bit fuzzy. One thing I’m sure of is that I didn’t have a problem with uverse. So, going to https://pogoplug.com/activate I see an 8 step process

        1 router
        2 power
        3 verify
        4 find device
        5 update
        6 hard drive
        7 account
        8 service plan (forget this one)

        I believe you are/were on step 5 when you got that message. Correct? If so, look at the back end of the pogoplug–the end opposite the green light. I’m assuming you have an ethernet cable plugged in above the power cable. (An ethernet cable looks a bit like a phone cable with an extra big plug). The other end of that cable needs to be plugged into the back of your uverse gateway. Looking at back of my uverse box, which may or may not be the same one you have, I see several possible places to plug in cables, Four of them are yellow and side by side. There is also a red one off by itself. The cable from a pogoplug needs to be plugged in to one of the four yellow ones not the red one.

        If that’s all correctly connected, then there should be two small lights next to the cable where it’s plugged in to the pogoplug. On mine, the light on the top is yellow and the one on the bottom is green. The color is not so important, what is is important is that they should be flashing, If not then you have a connection problem. There should also be a light (probably green) on the front of your uverse gateway corresponding to the number of the socket where you plugged the ethernet cable from your pogoplug. If the connections look right but you don’t have the flashing lights then try powering off the pogoplug for 30 seconds and then powering it back on.

        If that doesn’t help, let me know.

Leave a Reply

